Types Of Gummy: The Ultimate Guide
There are many types of gummies in the market. They come in different shapes and designs, with varying flavors. This guide explores some of the most common gummies. So keep reading to learn more.
What Is Gummy?
Gummy, which is also known as gummi or gummie, is the brand name for candy as used in Germany. This type of candy has been made using sugary gelatinous material.
Gummy Bear Baby
Gummy bear baby is a mini gummy morsel that looks attractive and has moist and chewy properties like other gummies. Gummy bear baby is used as a snack or a topping for frozen products.
Ingredients; Sugar, Corn Syrup, Water, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Gelatin, Canola Oil, Citric Acid, Pectin, Carnauba Leaf Wax, Coconut Oil. Gummy bear baby can be stored at room temperature and can last up to 1 year.
Giant gummy is the original and largest gummy made from cherry or blue raspberry.
One pack weighs around 4.5 pounds. Giant gunny offers high nutritional value with a wide variety of other uses for various occasions.
Ingredients; Gelatin 250 bloom or 100 bloom gelatin, Water, Caster (Superfine) Sugar, Glucose syrup, Citric acid, Sorbitol, Color, strawberry oil. This product does not diagnose, cure, prevent or treat any health condition or disease.
Sour gummy is the original gummi bear but contains a sour and tangy coating. The flavor that gives sour gummy its sour taste can be obtained from lemon, pineapple, orange, strawberry or raspberry.
Ingredients; water, fresh lemon juice, honey (or agave), unflavored gelatin*, sugar (icing or regular), citric acid. Vegetarians should not be served with sour gummies because gelatin is made up of animal by-products which can cause allergic reactions.
Gummy teeth look like the real teeth and gum and are very sweet and look silly.
They are suitable for dental related occasions and are packed 40 pieces in every pound.
Ingredients; Carnauba Wax and Bees Wax, Beef Gelatin, Acidulant (citric acid), Palm Oil, Artificial Flavors, Sugar, Colors, Corn Syrup. Teeth gummies can be stored at room temperature and last a period of up to 1 year before they expire.
Gummy alligators are flavorful dimensional candies usually made in green or a combination of colors. They are made to look like the real swampy creatures. Gummy alligators can be used in occasions like kids’ birthdays or reptilian-themed celebrations.
Ingredients; gelatin, natural flavors, sorbitol, carnauba wax, canola oil, lecithin, water, corn syrup, rosemary extract, sugar, citric acid, vegetable oil. Gummy alligators should not be used by vegetarians because it contains gelatin.
Gummy bears are small, fruity candies, almost similar to the jelly baby gummy in other countries. These gummies are about 2 cm long and look like a bear. They can be used for occasions like bear beach party.
Ingredients; sugar, glucose syrup, food coloring, starch, gelatin, flavoring, and citric acid.
The ingredients can differ depending on the consumers. Gummy bears can stick to the teeth hence can cause tooth decay.
Gummy Body Parts
Gummy body parts are candies that are designed in the shapes of body parts such as ear, eyeball, finger, foot, brain. These candies are suitable for parties meant to freak out friends.
Ingredients; Marple syrup, Sorbitol, Water, Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax, Artificial Flavors, Gelatin, Sugar, Malic Acid, Colors and Citric Acid. Gummy body parts are suitable for handing out to trick-or-treaters parties but should not be consumed in large quantities.
Gummy bunny is soft and delicious and really juicy since it is made with natural fruit juice. This candy is also fat-free made in variety of colors and flavors. They can be used as snacks or toping in kids’ birthday parties.
Ingredients; Marple Syrup, Gelatin, Potato Starch, Natural Flavors, Sugar, Citric Acid, Rice Syrup, Apple Juice Concentrate, Sodium Citrate, Coconut Oil, Vegetable Juice, Spirulina Extract, Beta-Carotene, Carnauba Wax, fat, Pectin.
Gummy Candy Corn
Gummy candy corn is a gummy version which is lightly covered with sugar with a soft texture in different flavors. They are suitable to be used as a treat for friends or for decorating Halloween Cupcakes or for other beautiful Halloween decorations.
Ingredients; Sugar, Tapioca Dextrin, Fumaric Acid, Corn Syrup, Maltodextrin, candy Glaze (Shellac), Salt, Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Gelatin, Honey, Acacia, Sesame Oil, Artificial Flavors and colors.
Gummy flowers are made of tasty flavors like strawberries, lemon and orange all in one candy. They come in small sizes but they are irresistible. Gummy flowers are used for baking decorations and perfect for eating on the go.
Ingredients; Water, Sodium Citrate, Glucose Syrup, Sweeteners, Marple Starch, Gelatin, food Acid, Flavors, and Colors. This candy type is also packed in the same way cereals containing gluten, peanuts are packed.
Gummy frogs are white foamy bellies with lime flavor and they are sweet with some sour taste. Gummy frogs are suitable for frog-based parties or rain forest occasions and they are green in color.
Ingredients: Marple syrup, gelatin, artificial colors, citric acid, sweetener, dextrose, natural flavors, Marple starch, processed coconut oil, beeswax coating, carnauba wax. Each bag has all the three flavors of gummy frogs in different amounts of each.
These are bright red colored and delicious candies with a soft and chewy properties. Every piece of gummy lobster is about 2-1/4″ long. Gummy lobsters are suitable for being handed out at parties like beach parties or summer lobster boil.
Ingredients; beef gelatin, carnauba wax, Marple Syrup, sweetener, acidulant (food acid), palm oil, color, bees wax, artificial flavor. Each bag of gummy lobsters contains about 325 Pieces of gummy lobster.
Gummy penguins are a delectable type of candy and the come in the shape real penguins.
They are addictive because of the peach flavor in their content. Gummy penguins are suitable for birthday parties, wedding parties, and candy buffets and for snacking.
Ingredients: sweetener, food acid, glucose syrup, gelatin, lactic acid, gelling agent (pectin), flavorings, coloring foods (turmeric, red grape, cherry safflower), color, palm oil, white and yellow carnauba wax.
Gummy pigs are candies that are made from sweet tasty fruits and are made in the shape of a real pink pig. They are suitable buffets that are pink themed because they come in color pink.
Ingredients: sweeteners, gelatin, flavors, Glucose syrup, water, citric acid, acidity regulator, color: carmine, glazing agents (carnauba wax or vegetable oil). The gunny pigs are two inches long and each bag contains 30 gummy pigs.
Gummy pizza is the type of candy that looks like pizza directly from the oven with a taste that is explosive. They are made to look exactly like pizza with the green and vegies appearance on the top. Gummy pizza can be used as treat during pizza fun times instead of pizza itself.
Ingredients; crust and cheese (strawberry-banana) all the way to the toppings: pepperoni, green peppers, and yellow peppers.
Gummy rings are candies that can be made from different flavors such as peach or orange and they come in the shape of a ring. Gummy rings can be used for various occasions such as birthdays, weddings, Halloween parties and candy tables.
Ingredients; Marple Syrup, Pectin, sweetener, Gelatin, Water, food Acid, Lactic Acid, Titanium Dioxide, Artificial Flavors, and colors. They are fun because you can put them on your fingers.
Gummy sharks are beautifully made candies in the shape of the nature’s wildest sea predator, the shark. They are made in various flavors and are suitable for occasions like beach parties, or any ocean themed functions.
Ingredients: Corn Syrup, Sugar, Gelatin, Apple Juice from Concentrate, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Lactic Acid, Sodium Lactate, Coconut Oil, Artificial Flavor, Carnauba Wax, Blue 1. Each bag of gummy sharks contains about 77 pieces.
Gummy snails are cute gummy type that come in smaller sizes and are highly flavored and made to imitate the shape of a real snail. These candies are suitable for functions like beach parties, ocean themed parties or snail themed parties.
Ingredients; Glucose syrup, Water, Sugar, Gelatin, Acid modified maize starch (1401), citric acid, Egg white, Flavors, Colors. They can be made using fruity flavors like mandarin, cherry or banana.
Gummy snakes are made in the shape of actual snakes and they come in various flavors such as cherry, orange. They are suitable for functions like snake themed parties or parties meant to freak out friends.
Ingredients: Wheat Glucose syrup, water, sugar, thickener, gelatin, flavors, food acid, glazing agents (vegetable oil), colors (102, 124, 110, 133, 122,). A bag contains a mixture of yellow, red, green and orange gummy snakes.
Gummy soda bottles are made in the shape of soda bottles and they can be used to replace sodas in various functions. These candies are made in various colors and can be used in functions like birthday parties, BBQS, candy tables, picnics and many more.
Ingredients: Marple Syrup, Gelatin, Sweetener, food Acid, Beeswax, artificial and natural Flavors, Vegetable Oils, FD & C Red #40, Yellow #5, Blue #1, Carnauba Wax,
Gummy spiders are made in the shape of actual spiders and they come in various flavors that offer a delicious fruity taste. They are suitable for spider themed parties or other functions like freak out parties or Halloween parties.
Ingredients; Flavorings, Sweetener, Gelatin, Water, food acid Acid, Colors (E102, E129, E133), Glazing Agent (Carnauba Wax), Glucose Syrup, Vegetable Oils (Coconut or Palm). The taste is a combination of sweet and sour.
Gummy warms come in the shape of worms and can be made in various colors with different flavors or a combination of flavors. They can be used for under the tea cupcakes, ice cubes, cookies, Halloween parties, birthday parties and many other functions.
Ingredients; unflavored gelatin, water, raspberry juice (or other juices), sugar, corn syrup, orange juice (or any other juices), Food coloring. They are easy to make from home.
Gummy vitamins are vitamins that can be chewed and they come in a texture and taste similar to normal gummies. They are preferred by kids and even adults who may not like vitamin supplements in the form of pills.
Ingredients; gelatin, corn starch, water, sugar, colorings, flavors like lemon, raspberry, cherry, or orange, vitamins, minerals like vitamin D and calcium. Overconsumption of gummy vitamins may be harmful to your health.
Gummy hearts are come in a combination of apple, lemon, orange, strawberry, cherry and pineapple flavors and meant for portraying sentimental feelings.
Ingredients; Marple Syrup, sweetener, Gelatin, food Acid, concentrated apple juice, Coconut Oil, Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Red 40, Blue colors natural or Artificial Flavors, and fat. Gummy hearts can be packed in the same packaging equipment as milk, eggs, almonds, coconut, peanuts and soy.
Gummy rats are made with tasty flavor and the take the shape of real rats. They are suitable for various parties like rat-themed parties
Ingredients; rice syrup, sweetener, kosher gelatin, food acid, artificial and natural flavors, fruit or vegetable juice (color), turmeric (color), vegetable oils (coconut or palm), carnauba wax. Gummy rat is made up of up to 270 calories and also contains gelatin which is not suitable for vegetarians.
People Also Ask:
The most popular gummy is the gummy vitamin because aside from fun and the delicious flavored taste, it also offers nutritional benefits. The only limitation of gummy vitamin is that overconsumption may be harmful to the body causing health issues.
Gummy bear has its origin in Germany and it was given the name Gummibär, meaning gummy bear or Gummibärchen meaning little gum, gummy. The original base ingredient for gummy bear was gum Arabic which led to the name gummy bear.
Gummy is a unique type of candy which is made up of gelatin, colorings, flavors, sweeteners and other ingredients. Gummy’s unique nature makes it easy to mold into thousands of styles making it more fun and the most versatile product.
Choosing the best gummy flavor requires you to consider a few factors such as your favorite fruits, your favorite colors. Other factors to be considered may include the purpose for the gummy including the occasion it will be used for.
The most popularly used texture determinant in gummies is the gelatin ingredient and is mostly used with gummy bears and worms. Other ingredients responsible for texture in gummies include starch like wheat flour and agar giving gummies a softer texture.
Generally, gummies are made up of sucrose, corn syrup, gelatin, water and starch. However, other ingredients such as colorings, flavorings are added to give beauty and taste. Food acids like malic or citric acids are also added for tart flavor.
You can choose to have your gummies soft or hard depending on your preferences. If you need your gummy hard, then you have to include sorbitol as part of the ingredients. Sorbitol gives gummy the kind of hardness as desired.
Gummy bear has its origin in Germany where it is still referred to as Gummibär meaning rubber bear or Gummibärchen meaning little rubber bear. The first person who made gummy bears was named Hans Riegel Sr. at the Haribo company.
There are a few factors to check:
Flavor – every bag of gummies will display the flavors in the gummies.
Dietary information – also included on the package.
Packaging – also a factor that most people consider before choosing a packet of gummies.